Thinking of home…Boston <3

In an age of 24/7 news cycles and breaking news being Tweeted in real-time, I have to admit I’m pretty far outside the loop here on my little island. I lived in Washington, DC, for 4 years before coming here. Living in DC means staying up-to-date on Congressional subcommittee hearings and knowing the latest gossip about Congressional staffers. It’s being way too involved in the mundane details of professional politicians. But I jumped ship and now I barely keep up with the news at all. Sure, I’m still on Twitter and Facebook and I read articles every day, but I no longer check 6 different online newspapers and receive Google news alerts for 9 different topics. I have more pressing things to do, like dive into the ocean and swim with eagle rays.

All this to say, when Mom called me around 3:30pm my time on Monday afternoon and started with, “I want you to know your sister’s ok, but…” I was shocked to hear the rest of her story about the marathon bombings. My sister was there, at the finish line. She was cheering on a friend running the race – just like so many other Bostonians. All of her friends were scattered nearby, and her husband’s family lives and works around the city. I am so lucky to be able to say all of them are safe and unharmed.

I am lucky to be able to say that my best friend is here visiting me, instead of being on the race path with her friends like other years. I am lucky to be able to say my cousin was working at Mass General Hospital and she could get home safely to her husband. I am lucky.

Not everyone can say as much. We will continue hearing the stories for months to come; this will not go away and it cannot be undone. But Boston is not a city for the faint of heart. We are rebels and revolutionaries. We are family. We stand together and we fight. Always have, always will. So I’m not worried about Boston recovering from this horrible tragedy. I’m not worried about Bostonians cowering in fear or changing their daily lives at all. All I’m worried about right now is finding my way to Boston for the 118th Boston Marathon. I’m sure I’ll see most of you there.

6 thoughts on “Thinking of home…Boston <3

  1. Lovely post…Boston is definitely a city of strong, loyal people! People always rally whenever they need to, they always support each other, and they will definitely show their strength throughout this time of tragedy.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Home again, home again, jiggity jig! Amanda Walkins

Leave a Comment

