Six months ago, I fell in love (cue the corny cliches…)

I’ve told this story countless times, but I guess it’s about time I introduce the blogosphere to the real reason why I stayed here in Roatan. Yes, it is a beautiful island and, yes, there are many reasons to live here. But here is mine:

I met a guy.

*GASP*

I know, I know, how cliche right?? Go to a beautiful island, meet a hottie on the beach, and then spend your days lazing in the sun and frolicking in the surf. A la every book written about every solo female traveler ever.

Case in point.

Case in point.

How stupidly cute.

But seriously, that actually is my life.

I met him on the beach. We chatted, we parted ways, we bumped into each other again getting coffee, we met up for dinner and talked for hours and hours.

Cliche sparks flying!

Cliche sparks flying!

I only planned on being here for five days, so I had to decide: continue on my planned solo trip to maintain my beloved independence, or stay with him to see what could happen. So obviously I pretended like I was in a movie: I called all of my girlfriends for advice, I played sappy love songs, I wrote countless lists of pros and cons…

Absolutely not. (C’mon, people, who actually does that in real life?!)

I really didn’t put any thought into it at all. Didn’t need to!

Within a week of meeting him, we were living together in his little studio apartment. I guess we both figured if we were going to try this, we were going to really try it since I was only staying here because of him. Oh and to add to that, his friend who works with the Roatan Humane Society told us about this dog he’d found and taken care of, but he still needed to find her a good home. So within a week and one day of meeting him, we lived together and had a dog (you’ve all met Lina by now).

Nothing about this is normal, I am fully aware of that. But I’m not normal and, trust me, neither is he!

So here we are, six months later. We live in a fantastic apartment right on the beach, Lina loves having her own bed and chasing crabs in the sand, we’ve had lots of friends and family visit us already, and I’m just enjoying my own little paradise. This might not have been the plan – at all – but I couldn’t be happier that I threw that plan completely out the window.

892223_10151436888563411_2082180339_o (1)

21 thoughts on “Six months ago, I fell in love (cue the corny cliches…)

  1. Love conquers all. We never know when it will find us, but when it does life becomes all the more beautiful. So, embrace the moment, ride the wave, and hope it lasts a lifetime.

    Like

  2. Definitely follow your heart! One year after meeting Kerry (and seeing her in person less than a dozen times) I quit my comfy job and moved to Canada. Within 6 months of the move we had a house and now almost 6 years later we have two houses, two dogs and a two year old. 🙂

    Like

  3. What a cute story! Definitely fate! And I personally think that it’s pretty special & romantic turn of events for what was only going to be a six week trip 😀 Hope it all works out!

    I’d love to visit South America someday – maybe even live there for a couple of years so I could really travel & get under the surface of the continent! Fingers crossed that it happens!

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Sarah! Let me know if you make it to Roatan any time soon, I’d love to show you around! I highly recommend Ecuador as well. I lived there for 6 months and absolutely loved it. Safe travels!

      Like

      • Dreaming of the day I can come visit! Ecuador’s definitely on my list and I’ll go check out Roatan now that you highly recommended it!

        What’s next for you btw? Will you be traveling some more or staying put?

        Either path sounds lovely to me since you’re already living the dream overseas but I was just curious! I’m currently stuck at home studying but hoping to travel more once I start work and actually get to take a little leave!

        Like

      • No real plan yet! Just enjoying life here on the island, and then when I’m no longer enjoying it I guess I’ll mosey on somewhere else 🙂

        The good thing about staying home for school is you can rediscover local sites! Go have fun with it!

        Like

  4. Pingback: On throwing plans completely out the window | AWalk on the Run

  5. Pingback: Video: My amazing mom made this for us! | AWalk on the Run

  6. So awesome you took that leap of faith! It IS like the movies, right? That’s what my friends tell me, at least. I’m coming back to Roatan next month to be with the man I met. Never know what life throws your way. 🙂

    Like

  7. Pingback: Lina’s Story: From PetroSun to Sunbathing | AWalk on the Run

  8. Pingback: Dreaming of another life | AWalk on the Run

  9. Pingback: City Girl, Meet Island Life. Island Life, Change City Girl | AWalk on the Run

  10. Pingback: City Girl, Meet Island Life. Island Life, Change City Girl - Amanda Walkins Amanda Walkins

  11. Pingback: Reflecting on one year of freedom - Amanda Walkins Amanda Walkins

  12. Pingback: TESOL/TEFL (...huh?) Amanda Walkins

Leave a Comment

