Home again, home again, jiggity jig!

I emailed someone while I was in Florida about going home soon. He assumed I meant somewhere else in the States. People often get confused when I reference home. I get it, there are several options.

It could mean my hometown, where I grew up, where my parents still live, and where I visit my oldest friends who understand exactly where I come from.

It could mean Washington, DC, where I lived for four years, where I first entered the working world, and where I met some incredible people and forged lifelong friendships.

It could mean where all my belongings are now in Roatan, where I work, and where I eat, sleep, and play.

Then again, home could just mean the hotel where I was staying for the week.

I mean really, what is “home” but a concept?

Home is wherever you want it to be. I love all my homes, from my current (accidental) island paradise, to my childhood home with all of my memories, to my DC home where friends became family. Hell, I even loved my hotel home last week for the wedding (despite the frigid air conditioned rooms – you people are crazy! You know who you are…).

Home to me is wherever I’m happy. And I like to be happy all the time.

7 thoughts on “Home again, home again, jiggity jig!

  1. I love this 🙂 and completely agree! Can we Skype this weekend/week? Sarah and I had an idea for September!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  2. Hi Bear, Once I married your mother, home was wherever we lived (Mansfield, Franklin, and finally N.A.), but it always felt great going back to the homes we knew as a child. If you feel as good about coming home to visit as we do about having you here, then the happiness we all search for will always be there waiting for you.

    Love, Audie

    Like

Leave a Comment

