We’re back on-island. And it’s been chaotic!

I know, I know, where are the posts and photos from Scotland and Ireland?! I’m trying to work on that, but in the meantime we’ve been back in Roatan since October 4th and it hasn’t been the easiest few weeks.

We came back to a few problems with our apartment and we still haven’t been able to get WiFi set up at our place. On top of that – as anyone who’s taken a vacation from work knows – coming back to find myself buried under weeks of unanswered emails, misfiled documents, missing inventory, and lapsed financial records have caused me more than a few headaches. So let’s add a little more and say we’re also launching a new tour at my dive shop so I’ve been hiring and training new staff while learning new procedures myself and trying to get all of this ready by November 1st. Needless to say, I’ve been pretty freakin busy! But it’s not all bad – not at all!

I really enjoy the challenges I’ve been facing at work and everything I’ve been learning. Check out our new tour! Super cool underwater scooters. Yep. For real. You can drive a bright yellow scooter underwater and breathe normally and see some amazing reef and sea life. It’s exactly as phenomenal as it sounds!

Welcome to my office! Perks of getting here super early in the morning include absolute peace and quiet with just the ocean shimmering brightly.

Welcome to my office! Perks of getting here super early in the morning include absolute peace and quiet with just the ocean shimmering brightly.

I'm a guinea pig! Showing everyone how to work the scooter on one of our recent training runs.

I’m a guinea pig! Showing everyone how to work the scooter on one of our recent training runs.

I was also surprised with a birthday party just a few days after we came home! Apparently everyone likes to lie to me and trick me 😉 Huge props to the Irish-Colombian for organizing everyone from across the pond. It was awesome, and I guess it was my boss’ idea to host the party on our huge palapa at Ocean Connections instead of at a bar! (insert bragging rights – my job is better than yours).

Surprise birthday party complete with balloons, munchies Wendy whipped up at The Buena Vida, pizzas Sarah got from Bananarama, and lots of smiling faces. So fantastic :)

Surprise birthday party complete with balloons, munchies Wendy whipped up at The Buena Vida, pizzas Sarah got from Bananarama, and lots of smiling faces. So fantastic 🙂

Lina was super excited to see us when we got home, and now we’re also dog-sitting for my friend Kelly’s adorable dog Hank. They’re officially besties now.

Our morning/evening routine: Hank runs around our beach like a mad man, Lina usually chases him, they wrestle a little, and then they both sprint back to me and nearly plow me over every time.

Our morning/evening routine: Hank runs around our beach like a mad man, Lina chases him, they wrestle a little, and then they both sprint back to me and nearly plow me over every. single. time.

And at the end of the day, standing on my beach to look at the sunset or the stars (depending on how late I work that day) is just incredible.

IMG_1293

This pic is actually from a few months ago. The sun sets really early now and I’ve been pulling late hours at work so all I have are dark photos. Lo siento. This one is still pretty, so I’m sure you’re ok with it.

Next post: Scotland. I promise! Thanks for being patient 🙂

3 thoughts on “We’re back on-island. And it’s been chaotic!

  1. Pingback: Back to my roots: Dublin in a few days | AWalk on the Run

Leave a Comment

