On throwing plans completely out the window

A year ago today, I made the decision to stay in Roatan because I’d met a guy and he made me feel like I should take a chance. I scrapped my plans to travel mainland Honduras and Guatemala. I started looking at this place in a new light, asking myself if I could and wanted to live here for a while. I sent some emails off to friends and family updating them on my plans. I started chatting with other people who lived here as if we were old friends.

And then I stopped thinking all about me.

I realized I was happy and that was all that mattered! So I started thinking in we. We spent all our time together, we moved in together, we adopted a dog together, and we created a new home and a new family for us. We’ve traveled on an epic adventure together. We’ve grown and changed and enjoyed this time together. And it’s all been completely worth it. One year later I know it was the best decision I could’ve made and I’m so happy I took a chance.

So while we’re at it, everyone keeps asking why I never name him and he’s just some litany of pronouns and descriptive words. The reason is simple: because this isn’t his blog. I’m the one writing it and I wanted to be fair to him. He never asked for his life to be thrown across the internet so I wanted to offer him whatever privacy I could while still gushing about him here. So, yes, he’s this mysterious figure lurking in the background of these pages (just kidding, his face is all over it), but I think you’ll all survive 😉

1292814_154817511383561_1946739788_o

5 thoughts on “On throwing plans completely out the window

  1. awwwwwwww you two. i remember last year when i was like “sooo….not leaving hey?” and you gave me a big grin and a “nope” while holding hands. best thing that’s happened around here. thanks for throwing your plans out the window, i’m happy you both are here and are my friends!! xo

    Like

  2. Amanda: I am SO HAPPY for you. You are an awesome role model for the rest of us. Just open yourself up to opportunity and embrace life!
    Sending love from VA!

    Like

Leave a Comment

