Dreaming of another life

Have you ever caught yourself in a daydream, somewhere far away on the beach with the sun warming your skin, the breeze dancing through your hair, the waves gently brushing the sand?

Yeah. That’s my life.

Jealousy is by far the most common reaction I get from people about my life here…

“Wow, I wish I could live here!”

“I can’t believe this is your home!”

“I would love to just pick up and move here.”

“Ugh, you’re so lucky!”

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: You are not a tree.

 

While I appreciate the compliments showered upon me for pretty much just being alive…

“You are so brave to just move here by yourself!”

“Wow, you really have it all figured out.”

“Good for you for following your heart!”

…it makes me sad to see how many people don’t actually do what they want. What does that say about our society that people feel trapped or stuck or without options? People should be free to go where they want, when they want, how they want. Our borders are merely lines drawn on a map that isn’t to scale anyway, so what’s the big deal?

Let’s all try to make a better effort to make ourselves happier. If that means leaving a job you hate, go for it. You’ll find something else you love. If that means moving somewhere new that’s warmer or colder or busier or quieter, go for it. You should wake up every morning grateful for your home. If that means breaking social norms and challenging previous generations, it might be difficult at first but each morning you open your eyes and realize you’re already smiling will make the change that much easier.

People shouldn’t be so shocked that I moved somewhere by myself far from “home”, or that I took a chance on a relationship, or that I found a job in a field for which I wasn’t really qualified. I shouldn’t be the exception to the rule – there shouldn’t be any rules at all. Do what you want, where you want, when you want. No one else will do it for you. You need to create your own happiness with this one life you have.

I am neither lucky nor brave. I did not ask a genie to grant my wishes. I consciously decided to be happy; nothing more, nothing less. I highly recommend everyone else do the same!

3 thoughts on “Dreaming of another life

  1. This is a really well put statement of how I feel! I am moving away from England to Hong Kong soon, and I keep getting told I am so brave… Maybe it is a big thing, but it really doesn’t feel like such a big deal to just go and do what I want to do!

    Like

  2. Hello Amanda.
    Firstly, really finding the things you write about interesting as i’m thinking of moving to central america and apart from blogs, accurate info is hard to find, but then me and the internet/computers have never been friends.
    Would you answer a few questions if you can?
    There’s only two counties to choose from, Honduras or Costa Rica? But is it possible for me to travel to Honduras and stay on a visa for 90 days then travel back to rica and do the same? I understand residential visas are hard/impossible to obtain.
    Can i use my boat for work? Charter tours or fishing for instance or just a tour of the island.
    If these things aren’t possible i’ll rethink my plans but as a local i thought you might have the relevant info as i’m sure this isn’t the first time you’ve been asked. I promise to come up with more taxing questions later.
    Many thanks,
    Paul Cliff

    Like

Leave a Comment

