I’m not dead yet! (Despite Dengue’s best efforts)

Sorry to be so MIA lately – lots has happened! Here’s the quick rundown…

 

We went off-island for 7 weeks. SEVEN weeks! It was filled with travels and visits with family and friends and endless fun. We spent two weeks in Boston with my family, two weeks in Scotland with his; we went to London for a week and Portugal for ten days. Add in a few days for travel and – poof! – seven weeks. We ate too much, drank too much, and laughed until our bellies ached. It was perfect.

 

During those seven weeks, our episode of House Hunters International aired and we had a viewing party at my parents’ house! It aired the last night of our trip, which was perfect timing to have a few laughs and share some fun memories before heading home.

 

After those seven weeks, we came back to our little island paradise and – wham! – both of us got hit with Dengue Fever. In case you’ve never experienced this first-hand, here’s the basic synopsis: you suddenly and rather violently get a raging fever one day. You think, ‘Hmm, perhaps I have the flu. This sucks.’ So you go to bed in hopes of sleeping it off in a few days. YOU DO NOT SLEEP IT OFF. The fever rages and then subsides, you suffer from a constant flow of chills and sweats and – to compound that loveliness – you also have the pleasure of being in immeasurable pain. The aches you get with the flu are mere shadows of the aches Dengue offers.

And then you get the nausea, disabling you from even thinking about food (should you have someone to prepare it and deliver it to you in the first place because you cannot stand long enough to walk to the fridge and open it, forget about actually taking something out). Then comes the rash and the itchiness demanding your attention. Your feet are suddenly covered in fire ants and your hands find no solace as you scratch the itch but another emerges to taunt you endlessly in a vicious cycle of “The Itchy and Scratchy Show.”

So, no, you do not sleep it off because you’re too busy sweating, freezing, scratching, listening to your empty belly rumble while simultaneously considering vomiting the nothinginess inside, and this whole time you’re trying desperately to ignore the aching and to find some semblance of comfort in the suddenly horrific setting that is your bed.

Moral of the story: Dengue is pretty terrible, it knocked me out for a week, and I’m just now starting to feel human again. And we spent so much time enjoying ourselves on our travels that I didn’t really bother to post. I won’t apologize for that! But I’m sure some scatter-brained posts will make their way here in the coming weeks, so stay tuned!

14 thoughts on “I’m not dead yet! (Despite Dengue’s best efforts)

  1. Hope y’all are feeling better this week…sorry we missed each other. I too have come home only to be getting sick. I can only hope it is not how you describe! Your island is very beautiful, more so I am sure when the sun shines! Xo

    Like

      • I hope I never have to experience Dengue Fever! Almost done here in Colombia (so bummed your 7 week adventure didn’t include Colombia!), I’ll be back in California in December, still trying to figure out what’s next, maybe back to the island! haha. miss yall!!

        Like

  2. Yikes! That sounds totally terrible! It was great to see you while you were home and glad you had such a great trip. Just sorry the the universe felt compelled to balance all that good karma from the trip with a nasty illness! We really enjoyed the House Hunter’s show; you both came off as your intelligent, articulate, interesting and appealing selves. Be well!

    Like

  3. Hello. I am a honduran living in Honduras. I read your dengue post and it gave me a flashback. First time I went to Roatan, I got malaria that I had caught three days before on a garifuna town near Tela. It was seven days of vacation in hell. I was staying at a backpacker hotel in West End when there wasnt even electricity and I could hear the beach parties and barbecues from my room, while squirming, sweating and trembling. This roatanian rasta guy kept me alive with man-root tea.The last day, I got the shakes and shook my way to the beach party where everyone got scared when they saw me covered in a thick blanket, with a dazed look in my eyes. They called Anthonies key resort decompression chamber ambulance and a doctor gave me a pill and all was over in an hour. I just wanted to ask: are you sure it wasnt malaria (there are 20,000 cases a year in Honduras) Who diagnosed dengue? Anyways, sorry to hear what happened to you, whatever it was.
    Saludos from Tegucigalpa

    Like

    • You feel my pain!! I also went to the clinic at Anthony’s Key and was diagnosed with Dengue via blood test results. Also, there’s kind of a mini-epidemic around here right now with lots of people getting it. Certainly unfortunate but also part of living in the tropics. Let’s both hope we never get either illness again! Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

      • There was a major hemorrage dengue fever ( a different strain) epidemic about three years ago on the mainland, mostly cetral and south. It killed (30? 50?) It reduces your white cell count and the whole body starts to bleed. This year i think there were no cases. It was pretty bad but now hopefully its gone. Goes to show how epidemics come and go. Malaria, on the other hand, is endemic. Maybe someday itll disappear too…
        Ok, saludos.

        Like

        • Hey Lindsay!

          That’s pretty much all you can do – but despite my bad experience, it’s really not that common here. There were a few people who got it around the same time I did, at the beginning of rainy season. I haven’t heard anyone else has gotten it in recent weeks though so it’s likely not an issue at all. Enjoy your trip and let me know if I can help with any of your planning!

          -Amanda

          Like

  4. Pingback: All the ways this island has tried to kill me (so far) | AWalk on the Run

  5. Pingback: Roatan Insider Tips: Mosquitoes, Malaria, and Dengue | AWalk on the Run

Leave a Comment

